Chief Coroner

Chief Coroner's Office,
Room C09,
Royal Courts of Justice,

Email: [email protected]

The Chief Coroner, an office created by the Coroners and Justice Act 2009, is head of the coroner system, providing national leadership for coroners in England and Wales.

The appointment of the Chief Coroner is made by the Lord Chief Justice in consultation with the Lord Chancellor. On the 22 December 2020 the Lord Chief Justice, after consultation with the Lord Chancellor, appointed His Honour Judge Edward Thomas Teague QC as the third Chief Coroner of England and Wales. 

Judge Teague QC takes over from the second Chief Coroner His Honour Judge Mark Lucraft QC who has served as Chief Coroner since 1 October 2016. Judge Lucraft QC had taken over from the first Chief Coroner, His Honour Sir Peter Thornton QC. 

Following the election by the Court of Aldermen of the City of London, in April 2020 Her Majesty The Queen appointed Judge Lucraft QC, as Recorder of London, the lead judge at the Central Criminal Court and the most senior Circuit Judge in England and Wales.   Judge Lucraft QC has discharged the roles of Recorder of London and Chief Coroner until the appointment of Judge Teague QC as Chief Coroner.  Judge Lucraft QC remains as the Recorder of London.

Her Majesty The Queen appointed Edward Thomas Henry Teague QC a Circuit Judge. The Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs and Lord Chancellor, Lord Falconer assigned him to the Wales and Chester Circuit, based at Chester Crown Court with effect from Thursday 13 July 2006.   He was called to the Bar (I) in 1977 and took Silk in 2000. He was authorised to sit as an Assistant Recorder in 1993 and appointed as a Recorder in 1997. He sits as a Circuit Judge at Liverpool Crown Court.   In 2015 he was appointed as an assistant coroner in Cheshire to undertake an inquest into the death of Anthony Grainger, he continued as judge coroner until he was appointed on 17 March 2016 by the Home Secretary as Chairman of the Public Inquiry into the circumstances of Anthony Grainger's death. His report pursuant to section 26 Inquiries Act 2005 was ordered to be printed by the House of Commons on 11 July 2019.